Spurs Odyssey Banner

20 years of archives at Spurs Odyssey


Spurs Odyssey Match Reports 1997-98 season

Listed below is an index to Spurs Odyssey exclusive match reports for the 1997-1998 season. This archive is being re-written and presented during the course of the 2017-18 season, and links to match reports will appear on or after the 20th anniversary of the game being played. Many of these reports and previews were written by Brian Judson, who sadly passed away in 2017 after a long battle with too many ailments. The 1997-98 season was the last when Brian was able to attend games. Whilst this was not a memorable season (to say the least), the archive does offer more insight into the skills and memories of a great Spurs fan and writer.

Click on the match name for an eye-witness match report where available.

Spurs Odyssey Home Page

DATE OF FIXTURE OPPOSITION SCORE SCORERS ATT. POSITION
Sun Aug 10
Manchester United (H) 0-2 - 26,359 20th
Wed Aug 13
West Ham (A) 1-2 Ferdinand 25,354 19th
Sat Aug 23
Derby County (H) 1-0 Calderwood 25,886 13th
Wed Aug 27
Aston Villa (H) 3-2 Ferdinand (2), Fox 26,317 9th
Sat Aug 30
Arsenal (A) 0-0 - 38,102 7th
Sat Sep 13
Leicester City (A) 0-3 - 20,683 9th
Wed Sep 17
Carlisle Utd (H)
Coca-Cola Cup Rd 2 - 1st Leg
3-2 Fenn, Fox, Mahorn 19,255 Cup Match
Sat Sep 20
Blackburn Rovers (H) 0-0 - 26,573 12th
Tue Sep 23
Bolton Wanderers (A) 1-1 Armstrong 23,433 11th
Sat Sep 27
Wimbledon (H) 0-0 - 26,261 13th
Tue Sep 30
Carlisle Utd (A)
Coca-Cola Cup Rd 2 - 2nd Leg
2-0 Ginola (pen), Armstrong 13,571 Cup Match
Sat Oct 04
Newcastle Utd (A) 0-1 - 36,708 14th
Wed Oct 15
Derby County (H)
Coca-Cola Cup rd 3
1-2 Ginola 20,390 Cup Match
Sun Oct 19
Sheffield Wednesday (H) 3-2 Dominguez, Armstrong, Ginola 25,097 11th
Sat Oct 25
Southampton (A) 2-3 Dominguez, Ginola 15,255 14th
Sat Nov 01
Leeds Utd (H) 0-1 - 26,441 15th
Sat Nov 08
Liverpool (A) 0-4 - 38,006 16th
Mon Nov 24
Crystal Palace (H) 0-1 - 25,634 17th






























We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Full details van be found via the Spurs Odyssey Privacy Policy